Southeastern Region History...

The Southeastern Region is comprised of the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, South Carolina, Tennessee, the beautiful Bahamas, and the serene Virgin Islands. The Southeastern Region has four Past Grand Basilei in the region: Past Grand Basileus Evelyn Hawkins Hood, Past Grand Basileus Cleo S. Higgins, Past Grand Basileus Helen Owens, and Past Grand Basileus Katie K. White. 

The Southeastern Region has a long and rich history within the archives of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. The history of the Southeastern Region begins with the Fourteenth Boule that convened in New York, New York. This Boule took place from December 27-30, 1939. This Boule was instrumental because this was the Boule where the Regions within Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. were established. The acceptance of regions was a sign of the growth of the sorority, and the national membership advancements that led to this decision. Prior to this decision there were only two regions within Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. this move led to four regions. This decision also led to the office of Regional Syntaktes to lead each one of the regions.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software