• Founders

    Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. was organized on November 12, 1922 in Indianapolis, Indiana by seven young educators: Mary Lou Allison Little, Dorothy Hanley Whiteside, Vivian White Marbury, Nannie Mae Gahn Johnson, Hattie Mae Dulin Redford, Bessie M. Downey Martin and Cubena McClure. The group became an incorporated national collegiate sorority on December 30, 1929, when a charter was granted to Alpha chapter at Butler University.
    Soaring To Greater Heights Of Attainment Around The World, Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc., as a leading national service organization, has met the challenges of the day and continues to grow through Sisterhood, Scholarship and Service.

     Mary Little  Dorothy Whiteside  Nannie Johnson  Vivian Marbury
    Mary Little Dorothy Whiteside Nannie Johnson Vivian Marbury


    Bessie Martin  Hattie Redford  Cubena McClure
    Bessie Martin Hattie Redford Cubena McClure


  • Click pictures to learn more about our illustrious founders